top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Artist Research - Tracy Emin

Updated: May 17, 2020

Another artist suggested to me at Review B to research was Tracey Emin. I also couldn’t see the relevance of Emin’s work to my projecct, except for that she talks about her own life, which I had made a point of NOT doing in this presentation. Or maybe it was the bed, as iconography. Which, actually is from an earlier project where we had to appropriate another artists work and I appropriated Emin’s ‘My Bed’, built it and made it my own…and this iconography was the first thing that made it into this body of work.


Again, any excuse to revisit the work of one of my favourite artists. A contemporary of mine. In revisiting an artists work again and again, you sometimes find something new and although I don’t see the relevance to this project, I may so in the future. And that is the point of an online journal / dossier.


Tracey Emin is a British artist known for her autobiographical & confessional artworks (painting, drawing, photography, video, sculpture, and neon text). Emin’s seminal works Everyone I Have Ever Slept With 1963–1995 (1995) and My Bed (1998) contributed to feminist discourse with the raw, confessional nature of her art. She cites Edvard Munch and Egon Schiele as early inspirations for her expressive style of self-representation, which I can see. For this reason, as we all know her famous tent and bed, I am going to look at some drawings. We see a more tender and childlike playful side of Emin, a sweetness in these works. http://www.artnet.com/artists/tracey-emin/

Emin, T, I Loved My Innocence, 2019, (image of) Lithograph on Somerset Velvet Warm White 400gsm paper, https://www.artnet.com/auctions/artists/tracey-emin/i-loved-my-innocence

Emin, T, iPad Sketches, 2013, http://www.artnet.com/artists/tracey-emin/ipad-sketches-a-7TkgAylwS47WjlAAoTuSPw2 Sorry for the small image, yet I always honour when Galleries are protecting artist’s copyright (and their own money). That’s the point of links. 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page