top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Artist Research - Week (-)3: Pippilotti Rist

Well, here we are again, back with Ms Rist. She just won't go away. Yet I have failed, thus far, to really pinpoint her significance to my practice, or situate my practice within the context of hers. I guess video is the 1st comparison. Ive also noted I want to have my video work 'experiential' 'immersive'. Rists' exhibition 'Sip my Ocean' at the MCA, Sydney, was my 2nd favourite exhibtion ever. Only exceeded by Rone's 'Empire' here in the Dandenongs. That's all the world...in my vast travels and 54 years. So it deserves a mention. I'm posting this link as it hints at the experience of the exhibition. Firstly, Sydney is my home. I first went to the Opera house not long after it was built in 1975 to see a ballet with my mum and sister. I think Giselle. My sister loved ballet. Both mum and Gina are dead now. Anyway, every part of Sydney is in every core of my being. as a kid, a teenager, 20's, 30's and to mid 40's. Living and working mostly in and aropund the city. At about the 4.30min mark we see the bed. I remember hopping in that bed and feeling 'home'. In Pippilotti's bed. With the (projected video) stars swirling over me. Much like seeing the interplay of the moon with my warehouse studio industrial windows on my ceiling. Both, wonderful.

Anyway, here's another that is a 30sec snapshot of the exhibition. A promo.

https://youtu.be/gpfEeGsJlVc

I'm just going to note words. Luscious. Gorgeous. Dreamy. Colourful. Pastels. Multiple exposure. Slow motion. Multi channel. Projected. Immersive. Experiential. Warm. Playful. Happy. Beautiful. Personal. Home.

I just think Pippilotti Rist is a huge inspiration for this semester but I can't quite put my finger on why. Its not simply that this is what I want my stuff to look like, aesthetically. Its that I think the aesthetics mean something very important, for what i want to say. They are what makes me resonate with this work and think it is about 'home' to me.

I should note the audio also. Both the sound effects / source recording and the music. Ive already began to think about this. And whether I should look into stock music or reaching out to muso and audio engineer friends and students. I've popped this in for next weeks research.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page