top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Artist Statement and Images for Review A Supervisor Meeting

TITLE: All I want for Christmas……

Artist Statement


‘All I want for Christmas…’ was conceived whilst searching for meaning on the Queens Birthday celebration, yet has been brewing for decades now. What concerns me is the superficiality of the holiday occasions and the meaningless of their symbolism.

Creating a perspective viewed through a context of social and political consciousness, as well as it’s surrounding culture, reveals how the holidays signify the exclusivity of contemporary society and mass consumerism. And this has led to these occasions being traumatic and alienating.

The work also addresses the notable lack of scholarly attention to the pervasive and deep involvement of public relations in shaping the holidays towards a society of heteronormative white families and religious groups.

The project acknowledges the power of the political and commercial strategies and messages to ‘reposition’ the holidays away from their origins and negative associations. Essentially, to keep these redundant days alive and profitable. And I want to take it back.



and trials I am considering handing up. I am not happy with them, yet welcome feedback. I still have next weekend to work on them / it. I am wary to hand them up as I would not exhibit them.

especially this quick image below. It could be misconstrued and my ideas have been enriched & broadened by an article I read on the construction of Australia Day as well as Rosi Braidotti's idea to create positive solutions.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page