top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Reflection on Review B

Arrogant. That was the word I was looking for. For an artist to refuse talking about the work. I am very happy to talk about my work if pushed. I am aware of every element in the image, every background, every colour, piece of clothing...hairdo even and I'm not saying it is successful. But I am rather liking giving the audience authority.

The need for the room was mentioned. Well, as the project goes on the need for the room is certainly diminished. However, it IS a stage and my constraint. Certainly for image 3 (except for the use of the seat) and image 4 and upcoming image 5...I think it does little to nothing in varying degrees. Yet I think I need images 6 to be set in the room and images 1 & 2 to mark the beginning and end of the story. Hopefully it will make sense.

Some suggestions were to flip it, blur, change angle and perspective. It is actually flipped (but equally, for all images), and disguised and changed with every image. The background are often blurry and I want the focus to come through to ground the image, along with the character, to focus it. But it can't hurt to try. That is what the history panel is for!

I am using this weekend to shoot the last 2 characters, catch up on the important missed master class and presentation and research. Into Freudian dream theory - that every character in your dreams is yourself (there is exceptions to this, but Im interested in the theory to see where it takes me. John Baldessari, whom I love for his use of shape and colour to direct the viewer, Daniel Crooks for time and motion (hmm, that comment was a surprise, because most of my work has subconsciously incorporated this, blur, multiple and long exposure) and Boris Mikhailov 'Yesterday's Sandwich' and 'Red'

Concerns I have: I am not happy with image 4 - I need somewhere to shoot me being rained on - my bathroom doesnt fit a camera and lights in it let alone get a full body shot. And shoot rain properly myself. I haven't thought about presentation and I am struggling to articulate contextualising my work in contemporary practice.

Things I am not concerned / proud about: I hope I never get complacent or precious about my work. I don't think I will. I think there IS a place for work to speak to the things my work attempts to. I am not concerned my techniques wont improve quite quickly. I work really hard. When I started using CAD programs I was scared and took the entire weekend to do a an exercise other students did in an hour or two. Now my selling point, as an architect, is that I have the design experience as well as being amongst the most experienced on the primary 3D CAD software in the country.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page