top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Research Week 5: Callout culture

Defined as ‘a way of behaving in a society or group in which people are often criticized in public, for example on social media, for their words or actions, or asked to explain them’. I then went on to investigate through articles published by reputable sources such as The NY Times, The Atlantic and The Guardian.


How it is Not callout culture, but about accountability. The George Floyd protests (which, last year freaked me out. At my birthday, months into lockdown, alone and experiencing a lot of toxic behaviour myself at work. Seeing the truck driver trying to mow down the protestors in MY one time home town. Minneapolis. PRINCE'S!!! hometown. How this led to the Black lives matter and other issues of race.


Another titled ‘Call-out culture: how to get it right (and wrong)’ that went on to warn this ‘defining feature of our online conversations' (as Obama noted), the point of highlighting someone else’s mistakes is not just to feel good about yourself.


Another ‘I’m a Black Feminist. I Think Call-Out Culture Is Toxic’. Talks about this culture shaming people ‘publicly…..online, at the office, in classrooms or anywhere humans have beef with one another.’


It just doesn’t right to me. It sounds mean. I decided years ago I never wanted to put someone down just to feel good about myself. I feel I do not have a nasty bone in my body, yet I have never not spoken out against injustice or prejudice. Its my pet hate.


Plus everything about Prince and Lister is published or public knowledge anyway. Plus Prince is dead and I doubt this project will affect his rep. Its about something larger. Its about me voicing my disagreement with this kind of behaviour. It is a hard line. THIS IS NOT OK.


Add to this there are levels of callout and Prince fares pretty well, actually. He just comes off as a narcissist, sexist, pretty sleazy, INCREDIBLY talented guy I clearly love. Which is all true. None of which is a crime.


And Superfluity….I often wonder if they became aware of this project how they would feel. I ALWAYS think of this before writing anything to anyone. I think what I am doing and saying is kind of funny and entertaining. I would say to them ‘I thought a public shaming was in order’. But for what? Not reading the Prince letter which I would only like acknowledged as possible that I would see it as them being complicit in that behaviour. No accusation. Its more telling them how they hurt me. But with humour. I am simply making a point publicly…via them. In my minds eye I know they will get it. And I would simply tell them, 'its not personal, its just business' (a 'Godfather' quote) with a smile.

So I get it….its just a ‘culture’ I situate my practice in. Yet I am not comfortable with this solely as this culture DOES sound steeped in nastiness and I don’t want to be any part of it. I firmly believe my reasons for doing this project are in the wider community’s best interests.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page