top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

So now I'm doing a Masters of Photography at RMIT

My goal in doing this degree is to find my own voice and have my work resonate with others. To find a way to speak about my own life (which is all I can do) which is universal. And I think it is.

I am interested in loss, loneliness, isolation and, most importantly, the human condition. Primarily, I am interested in exploring my experiences through a context of social consciousness.

At the end of last year I was having a lot of long, strange, vivid dreams. I made a practice of writing these dreams down to explore them. They were mostly about a journey. Home. I want to explore this theme through my own dreams, which are clearly based on my own life, memories & wishes. What I am searching for, in my subconscious.

I will use these dreams as source material for the images I create. I want to explore the idea of ‘home’ and see whether there is a connection with the absence of it with isolation, loneliness, mattering & meaning. How important is the idea of ‘home’ to our ultimate happiness and meaning in life? That is what interests me. Here is a series I created recently when I found my grandparents house, a place I spent a lot of time as a child, was being demolished. All the people that lived in this house are now dead bar the youngest daughter. My grandparents, my mum and my uncle, about a year prior. So that's sad.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page