top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

The Surreal

I looked into ‘the surreal’ in regards to visual images, but primarily photography. Of course you can paint fantasy. But with photography, mostly this is concentrated in photoshop composited. Then I realised I had researched the surreal before when doing film photography. Although I am experimenting with multi-exposing today, a technique I have used a lot, I realise I still have to master a lot of compositing techniques. As I started doing LinkedIn learning videos yesterday I find there are MANY different ways to composite. Its quite daunting even choosing the best way, let alone getting practised at all the techniques. I am trying more experimenting this morning, as well as with shadows this afternoon.


My fears with 'the surreal' is that these images often look very 'commercial', something you would find on pinterest or cheap 'art' prints. My other fear is, if I change my project direction too much, is there time to develop it? Anyway, here are the surreal images I found interesting.

Tommy Ingberg 'Crow'.

And Philipe Halsam's famous Dali Atomicus. Wow, this is ONE image. You can see the assistant holding the chair and the wires on the easel / painting, but the water and cats are real!! clearly somebody is throwing the felines from the (camera) right but that water..it is an amazing stream! Halsman employed a technique he called “jumpology.” To capture the true spirit of his subjects. “When you ask a person to jump, his attention is mostly directed toward the act of jumping and the mask falls so that the real person appears,” he once explained. (https://www.artsy.net/article/artsy-editorial-story-surreal-photograph-salvador-dali-three-flying-cats)

Road Swimmer. I really like this as an expression of emotion

Nicolas Bruno. Always loved fire. It's an idea to think about.

Lara ZankoulI's 'Frenemies'. I had planned to use water. I really like this but I can see a tiny edge that makes it unbelievable on the (camera) right models (camera) left arm

Erik Johansson.

Very Magritte-ish

Iman Tehranian

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page