top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Week 3 - Reflection on Supervisor Meeting

I had just started reading an incredible resource on posthuman knowledge production, which was simply acknowledged as being of great interest to me and helpful for this project. I had been researching both culture jamming and deconstructive montage. I really felt culture jamming was going to be a useful form of communication for this project. At least a visual form of communication to draw upon. Yet it seems I was a bit rough and ready with my deconstructive montage research. In fact, I like to search images 1st....to visually respond to the medium. To make my own definition of the term. But in this case, I kept getting the art form in relation to 'VR' (virtual reality) and got both images and definition everywhere I searched. Turns out there's a good chance I was using my lecturers students homework from what could be considered another age, considering how far 'VR' has come in regards to photography and how it actually means something totally different now. So, lucky we had the library lecture the day before and I knew, from now on, apply the CRAAP test. Currency = that would be a 'no'; relevance = 8/10; authority = none, or even minus points depending on where mine stands in relation to 'none'; accuracy = eh, all things considered. It could be better. Purpose = 10/10. Although unintended, it taught me the value of applying the test. So now I will do the searching again through the library and also look into Martha Rosler after I resonated with her image 'Photo Op' as a reference / context for this project.

I had a few questions about whether I can mix the two, which I already knew the answer to, since it is my work and, ultimately, I have to make the call on whether my decisions work or not. I kind of also knew my answer to including internet sourced images. It is almost required. My new idea's about the 'what', or end product were mentioned and I got the impression this idea of Hallmark cards, a performance video of me handing them out were worth consideration and continuing to explore this project further with a possible video installation major work in the future was an idea I could keep in the back of my mind. In short, I am very encouraged that the irreverence and humour with which I approach most things...my character, is finding a voice. Even if my last 2 projects had to be a little self indulgent and insular to get there. I still have concerns over the quantity of deliverables for reviews in regards to this process. Yet that doesn't affect my planning. Research, shoot, edit, construct, refine from Saturday morning to Sunday evening, every week.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page