top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Week 4 - Reflection on Group Critique

Updated: Aug 22, 2020

The execution is deconstructive montage. I am not sure this will be the totality of the entire series, but it will be the primary form. There will be plausible realities mixed in. When I mentioned I was having trouble with the ideas for Australian Day somebody mentioned it was a contentious issue yet it was also mentioned this form REQUIRES me to be didactic. I get to have an opinion. I'm telling people what to think. My problem is, with that Day, I haven't narrowed down what it is 'selling' and my feelings of celebrating this day as 'its wrong!' is not narrowed down.

In regards to resolution I really agree I have resolved the idea of Christmas & New Years day and I feel better execution will further improve these images. So, what works about these images? From the feedback it was clarity & sparseness. One idea.

The Easter Sunday image does not. I already hated it last week. And I am proud that I have little fear and am generous enough to put up images I hate and cringe about. Having it up for semi-public scrutiny. Better now than later, right? and its free...and Ive already totally changed the idea. The new idea is a bit 'full', but like Gursky's work, I feel sometimes the themes warrant crowding the image. Particularly Boxing Day. Anyway, one piece of advice was to make more work, be prolific. That was always me when I am finding my way, so I will follow this process. Research, spend half the time refining what does work and churning out new ideas, roughly.

I need to consider composition, something I was told last semester as well. I think this will be a constant back & forth refining process this semester. Again, better now than last semester. Have a crack, put it out there, bring it back, reflect, refine.

We looked at Martha Rosler, whom I researched a lot this last weekend. Images, videos of her speaking about her work, galleries talking about her work. I noticed in the image put up how she uses perspective, eyeline and even the direction of the subjects 'gaze'. I feel I resonate with her work now, far more than when I looked at her work last semester. And it was mentioned that tis project is contributing to a conversation she is already part of.

Lastly, it was mentioned that I liked to depict (something about) my feeling. Well, of course, who else's could I depict? And what is the point of art if not to express something? I cant see any.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page