top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Week 4 - The history of photography

more comprehensive notes in my hard copy journal...but heres the salient images and points

François Arago announces Daguerre's discovery to the French Academy of Sciences, Paris, France, August 1839


Pictorialism: soft focus, romantic, emotional, nostalgic. It sought to demonstrate photography could be art


Modernism is a response to 'The shock of the new' in opposition to pictorialism it utilised sharp focus, framing and abstraction. It also opened to documentary photography and 'pure values'


Image: Paul Strang, 1916, 'Abstraction, Twin Lakes, Connecticut', https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/1987.1100.10/


Post Modernism: it was particularly interested in the selective, constructive nature of photography. A reaction to the universal claims of modernism. 'The family of man' came up. I'd just like to add I won my 1st prize, a nomination in this competition 2016. I was so proud and I didn't know how formative this original exhibition was at the time. I'll post them in the discussion.


Tracey Moffatt, 1989, 'Something More #1', https://www.mca.com.au/artists-works/works/1992.144.1/


I love both these female photographers and I guess that is also a defining part of Post Modernism for me. We start to see female photographers that talk about female issues. Or just their life, as opposed to earlier working photographers that were pretty much doing what males were doing. Annie Liebowitz was mentioned as the most famous 'celebrity' photographer, whom I love, but I think David La Chapelle has made 'celebrity' and 'fame' a thing, as a photographer like Koons has done in the art world. So he's who I would give this title, even though I prefer Annie Liebowitz any day. I'd say she was a portrait photographer, rather than a 'celebrity' one.


So then we get into 21st century photography which is the exploration of the labour practices the shape the world through mass-production, computation, self-replication and pattern recognition. An enquiry into what makes something an image. Im going to deviate from the lecture images and post my own example. ALL composited. I did an essay on the sublime in art, comparing William Turner to Gursky.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page