top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Week 6 - Reflection on Supervisor Meeting

Updated: Sep 11, 2020

Last meeting before presentation and (final) submission of review A. No matter how long you have spent on it and how well you think you have done with the artist statement, I find it is impossible to do it in one sitting. Needs refining. And I have to be careful with my wording...'Christian' is the dominant group whose values are represented in the holidays, not religious groups, per se. Plus in 'language of creative research' today I was told I really need to hone in on who I am targeting...and its not families or christians...or white people. Its fast becoming PR, politics and consumerist society. It IS appropriate to reference in the statement (ok, at this stage, or for academic purposes.....I'd say not, in some contexts). Small things, easily fixed, take off the text that was to reference chrissy / occasion cards OR copy it...I have to be careful with Aboriginal artworks even if they are quite well known / ones used for logos / event posters. I had already decided the two images I put up for discussion were not working and to research Michael Cook this weekend for another idea I have. Yet I always think it is worthwhile to put up failures because sometimes you know they are not working, but you find out comments like above. It just gives more to test the next crack. I wasn't totally sold on Easter, yet I thought it was funny and would only require tweaking. But, it needs to be a visual joke. I agree, but disagree with my feedback in LCR. My mock ups do not look like a comic strip. They look more like graffing, a Banksy. Thats why they work, when they do. A comic strip relies on the dialogue. The more witty, the more high-brow the strip. Anyway, happy at what I feel is minor tweaking for the 1st submission.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page