top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

Week 7 - Reflection of Supervisor meeting

I had wanted to use this meeting for help with Assignment 2, the document structure plan. I'd sent a draft on the weekend. To summarise: I need to include the research question in the summary. And explain how the visual components will tie me or reposnd to the artist. I need to be a bit more descriptive of the components that comprise the project (letters accompanied by a visual component, forming an installation comprising.. etc).

I need to tie the objectives back to work itself (through photography, communication thru letter writing, performance, song, installation etc., opening up a dialogue across various fields of practice including architecture, music etc).

In the rationale I needs to give a bit of background to the recent occurances I mention to back up that this a prevalent issue. I should contextualise my work within my community of practice; Pippilotti Rist (song, music, appropriation?), Tracy Emin (Auto-enthnography, confessional), Nicola Tyson (feminism), Jill Solloway (female gaze), Cindy Sherman (role play) and make points about each, why I like them. And include academic texts.

The research question needs work. Again, I need to tie it back to the work itself. Eg, 'how can I engage using photography, installation & performance'. I actually need to google how to write a research question. Im that unsure about it. Certainly never had this in my Masters of Science (Achitecture in sustainable design).

In the methodology it is important to say why the processes mediums I use are best to acheive my aims.

I also didnt know what a 'research narrative' was. We discussed this. From what I understand this is talking about my process 'drawing from my own experience / personal history...' and how in this project I did this and this and realised this....and this didnt work so I did this, etc.

The conclusion I always feel is silly to 'tell them what you just said'. Its always the shortest paragraph in any essay I have written. My supervisor said to mention I intend to keep this project going after I graduate. A book of letters. I was always taught to not introduce new information in the conclusion.

Anyway, definitely got my weekend cut out for me

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page