top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBelinda Keyte

WIP and hard copy journal sketches

Drawing really helps me. With ideas, composition and (of course) the components you need to shoot.


I did a couple of hours linkedIn learning on compositing. The bulk of this one about compositing the man in the bottle. Another Sean Duggan. He's really good and a good explainer. Unlike the last, where it was only compositing, this one goes from conception to finished. I learned: more on blending modes, skies, water and landscape elements for compositing, recognising & photographing symbolic elements, location shooting for composites (landscapes, model & prop), studio shooting for composites, shooting tethered / Light room & studio mocks ups & more on compositing (man trapped in bottle).

I realise There is a lot to learn. My weekend is now a routine of shooting Saturday morning, watching a bit more of learning, then compositing an image Sunday, along with the LinkedIn learning. This pretty much takes all day, but I save all the layers and masks, so I can go back to finesse any work at any time. Here is last weeks image a bit better and 2 versions of the image I plan as the 1st to the series with 2 blending modes.

2. Absence


1. innocence, linear light blending mode. I think I'll start the sky a bit higher up.

Normal blending mode


Lastly, I want this to be a story. A progression. I'm still not locked into a title, but I want to research Grayson Perry's 'TheVanity of Small Differences' - a series of six tapestries. Its a progressive story that charts a mans rise from class to class, to ultimate death. It is the opposite of my story but VERY pertinent. It is not about home...but it is.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page